The Countdown to the World Chess Championship 2023 Has Begun

The Countdown to the World Chess Championship 2023 Has Begun

World Chess Championship 2023: Highly Anticipated Event in the Chess World

The World Chess Championship 2023 is one of the most highly anticipated events in the world of chess. Every two years, the two best chess players in the world compete for the title of World Chess Champion. The upcoming championship, scheduled to be held in April 2023, promises to be an exciting event that will capture the attention of chess enthusiasts worldwide.

World Chess Championship 2023: Schedule and Location

The World Chess Championship 2023 is taking place from 7 April to 1 May 2023 to determine the new world chess champion. Astana, Kazakhstan will be the location of the World Chess Championship in 2023. It will be a 14-game match, with players alternating the white and black pieces. In case of a tie after 14 games, the match will go to tie-breaks to decide the winner. The time control will be 120 minutes for the first 40 moves, 60 minutes for the next 20 moves, and 15 minutes for the remainder, plus an increment of 30 seconds per move beginning at move 61. This same format was used for the previous world championship in 2021.

World Chess Championship 2023: Prize and Participants

The mega-event boasts a prize fund of 2 million Euros, with the spoils divided between the winning player (60%) and the runner-up (40%). Magnus Carlsen, the reigning champion, opted not to defend his title against Ian Nepomniachtchi, who emerged victorious in the Candidates Tournament 2022. As a result, Nepomniachtchi is slated to face off against Ding Liren, the second-place finisher in the Candidates, in the upcoming World Chess Championship match.

Why is Magnus Carlsen not playing?

Magnus Carlsen is the reigning five-time World Chess Champion. Carlsen successfully defended the title in the world championship matches of 2014, 2016, 2018, and 2021. It is interesting to note that, In December 2021, he played the world championship against Ian Nepomniachtchi and won the championship.

Non-participation by the incumbent champion is a rare situation. From 1993–2005, two rival world championships operated simultaneously. Outside that period, the last reigning champion who declined to take part was Bobby Fischer in 1975. In that case, FIDE awarded the title to Fischer’s challenger, Anatoly Karpov, without a match being played.

Ian Nepomniachtchi vs Ding Liren

According to the latest FIDE rankings, Ian holds the world No.2 spot while Ding is ranked world No.3. As of March 2023, Ian Nepomniachtchi is rated at 2795 and holds a slight advantage over Ding in their head-to-head record. Out of the 13 classical chess games played between the two, Nepo has won 3, lost 2, and they have drawn 8.

Ding Liren, Ian Nepomniachtchi

Ding Liren, Ian Nepomniachtchi

With no defending champion and two challengers, the event will be one of the most exciting and unpredictable events in recent history. A new World Champion will be crowned in Astana, making it a historic event.

As a global chess academy, Chess Gaja is eagerly looking forward to the championship. We also would like our students in 10+ countries to follow the games live on the official broadcast channels and learn from the legends of the game!