Global Chess League: Tech Mahindra’s IPL-Style Approach to Revolutionize Chess

Global Chess League: Tech Mahindra's IPL-Style Approach to Revolutionize Chess

Global Chess League (GCL) is a unique league-styled chess tournament that is set to take place from June 21st, 2023 to July 2nd, 2023. It is the world’s first and largest official franchise league of its kind, featuring six teams with six players each, including a minimum of two female players and one icon player per team.

What sets GCL apart is its joint team format, where male and female chess champions will compete on the same team, making it the only joint team in a professional sports league. The league is a joint venture by world body FIDE and Tech Mahindra, which recently announced a landmark partnership marking a key milestone in the creation of the Global Chess League.

Each team will compete in 10 matches in the rapid format across all six boards in the tournament. The top two teams after the round-robin format will progress to the final on July 2, and the winning team will be crowned the world champion franchise team.

GCL has a unique focus on individual attention, with top chess players being mentored by some of the most experienced coaches in the world. Viswanathan Anand, five-time world chess champion and GCL mentor, said, “The primary objective of GCL is to promote the sport of chess globally and make it visually attractive for the masses.”

The joint team format of GCL not only promotes gender equality in sports but also brings a new level of excitement and anticipation to the game of chess. With a focus on individual attention and top-notch coaching, GCL is set to take the chess world by storm and create a new generation of chess fans and players.

The official website of the Global Chess League will be launched soon.

To find more details about Global Chess League read here –’s%20largest,one%20icon%20player%20per%20team.

For updates follow this Twitter handle –

Join Our Newsletter

Subscribe to Newsletter

"Every chess Master was once a Beginner" - Irving Chernev


Copyright © 2023 ChessGaja